Seto-ohashi Bridge Area

Okayama, Chugoku

Six bridges that span five islands are located here. The silhouette of these bridges in the setting sun is breathtaking.

Seto-ohashi Bridge is a collective term for the six bridges that connect Kojima in Okayama Prefecture on Honshu and Sakaide of Kagawa Prefecture on Shikoku, spanning five islands, namely Hitsuishi-jima Island, Iwaguro-jima Island, Wasa-jima Island, Yo-shima Island, and Mitsugo-jima Island in the Seto Inland Sea. The bridge took 40 years and a tremendous amount of money to build. It is more than 13 kilometers long, and has become a major sightseeing spot. The upper level is for the Seto-Chuo Expressway, and the JR Seto-ohashi Line and a pass road share the lower level. The bridge is crowded with not only those who need to cross it but also many tourists.

The six bridges consist of three suspension bridges, two oblique suspension bridges, and one truss bridge. They are the essence of all available bridge-building technologies, and are beautiful. The silhouettes glowing in the setting sun are particularly beautiful. The bridges are illuminated after sunset.

You can see the entire bridge from the top of Mt. Washu-zan that juts out at the southwestern edge of the Kojima-hanto Peninsula. Pleasure boats cruise from Kojima Sightseeing Port to provide a view from the sea.


From Tokyo:
[Air] 1h 15 min from Haneda to Okayama Airport.
[Rail] 3h 20 min from Tokyo to Okayama Station, and 30 min from Okayama to Kojima Station by JR Seto-ohashi Line.
From Osaka:
[Rail] 45 min from Shin-Osaka to Okayama by Shinkansen.

Around the Seto-ohashi Bridge Area

More on the Seto-ohashi Bridge Area