Mt. Myoko Area

Niigata, Chubu

A hot spring village on the outskirts of Mt. Myoko. Myoko Kogen is one of the finest ski areas in the country.

The Myoko Kogen highlands stretch out at the eastern foot of Mt. Myoko, which towers on the border of Nagano Prefecture in the southwestern part of Niigata Prefecture. It is a popular summer resort because of its cool climate. Mt. Myoko is the highest peak in the Myoko Volcano Range, and the outer rim of its crater is surrounded by Mt. Akakura, Mt. Maeyama, and Mt. Kanna. The Jigokudani Valley between Mt. Myoko and Mt. Maeyama is the rich source of hot springs.

Five different types of rich hot spring water up from the foot of Mt. Myoko and supply water to seven hot spring villages: Akakura, Shin-akakura, Ikenotaira, Suginosawa, Myoko, Seki, and Tsubame.
In addition, there are nine skiing grounds on the grand slopes of the foothills of Mt. Myoko, making it one of the best ski areas in the country. Attracting many skiers during the winter season, this place becomes quite busy and lively.

Tenshin Okakura, a pioneer of Japanese modern arts and former president of the Tokyo Art School (the present-day Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music), loved Myoko for its richness of nature so much that he built a mountain villa there in his later years. Within its site stands Okakura Tenshin-do Hall, a replica of Yumedono of Horyu-ji Temple in Nara, complete with a gold gilt statue of Tenshin inside.


From Tokyo:
[Rail] 1h 50 min to Nagano Station on JR Hokuriku Shinkansen Line, and 40 min from Nagano Station to Myoko Kogen Station on Shinano Railway’s Kita-Shinano Line.
From Osaka:
[Rail] 2h 40 min to Kanazawa Station on JR Hokuriku Main Line, 1h 5 min from Kanazawa Station to Joetsu-Myoko Station on JR Hokuriku Shinkansen Line, and 35 min from Joetsu-Myoko Station to Myoko Kogen Station on Echigo TOKImeki Railway’s Myoko Haneuma Line.

Around the Mt. Myoko Area

More on the Mt. Myoko Area