The shrine has a deep connection with the Imperial Family and its unique architecture is one of the main attractions.
Kashii-gu built in 724 is dedicated to Emperor Ojin (rein 270-310), his father Emperor Chuai and his mother Emperess Jingu. The three gods are collectively called “Sumiyoshi-no-okami.” It has not been confirmed whether the three imperial family members really existed or not.
The current building is a reconstruction in 1801. The main hall is built in a unique architectural style called “Kashii zukuri” that can be seen only here in the country and is designated as an Important Cultural Property of Japan. The shrine together with Ise-jingu, Iwashimizu Hachimangu and Toishi Hachimangu comprise “Honcho Yonsho”, the four shrines that have deep connection with the Imperial Family.
There is a spring of water called “Furosui (water of youth)” near the temple. The name comes from a legend that a person cooking rice for the emperor and empress using the water lived over 300 hundred years. The crystal water is still welling and you can dip and drink from the spring during the period from 10:00 to 15:00. Around June visitors enjoy brilliant purple color of about 10,000 sweet calamus flowers. Its approach lined with camphor trees is also splendid. How about soaking in the quietness in lush greenery?
- 4-16−1 Kashii, Fukuoka Higashi-ku, Fukuoka