Click to jump to the text.

Get Adobe Flash player

Get Adobe Flash player

Nasu / Shiobara那須・塩原

The eleven hot springs of Shiobara dot the valley of the Houki-gawa River. This highland area extends from Mt. Nasudake.

日本語 English
繁體中文 簡体中文


Use the "JNTO TRAVEL PLANNER" for train and map information helpful in traveling around Japan.

  • By simply entering the departing and arrival station, get an overview of train transfer method, fares, and travel time.
  • By simply selecting the arrival airport and major train stations around Japan, find routes to stations nearest your destination.
  • Display a map of the arrival train station and areas surrounding sightseeing spots.

Read the "Usage Guide" and use this service for a safe and enjoyable trip in Japan.

Usage Guide


日本語 English 繁體中文 簡体中文 한국어

  1. Home
  2. Find a Location
  3. Tochigi
  4. Nasu / Shiobara

Text starts here.

Find a Location

The eleven hot springs of Shiobara dot the valley of the Houki-gawa River. This highland area extends from Mt. Nasudake.

Nasu Heights are located at the upper reaches of the Naka-gawa River in the northern part of Tochigi Prefecture.

At 1,917 meters above sea level Mt. Nasu-dake is the main peak of the Nasu Volcano, and has a crater approximately 100 meters wide and 20 meters deep that pours out rich smoke with steam.

The highland area extending from the foot of the Nasu Volcano is dotted with hot springs including Yumoto, Takao, and Omaru. Together they form the Nasu-onsen-kyo Hot Springs Village, renowned in Japan as a resort offering recreational facilities for golfers and skiers, and for tourists, who visit the area all year round. Covering a large area encompassing both highland and plain are the Rindo-ko Family Bokujo Ranch, where visitors can try their hand at milking a cow or enjoy go-cart-riding, and the Nasu-Dobutsu-O-koku (animal kingdom theme park) where visitors can get close to various dogs and cats and enjoy a special animal show.
Shiobara-onsen-kyo Hot Spring Village is located slightly to the southwest of Nasu along the Shiobara Valley at the upper reaches of the Houki-gawa River, and is commonly known simply as "Shiobara's Eleven Hot Springs" due to the presence of eleven hot spring sources.

The valley, which offers spectacular views, particularly when the autumn tints are at their best, is also known for its two suspension bridges: the 320-meter Momiji-dai Suspension Bridge at the mouth of the Village, and the Mikaeri-no-Tsuribashi Suspension Bridge (literally "the bridge of retrospection") along the promenade. Mikaeri-no-taki Falls is a well-known scenic spot.


An hour 15 minutes to Nasu-Shiobara Station from Tokyo Station by the JR Tohoku Shinkansen Line, or 3 hours 45 minutes from Shin-Osaka Station with a change at Tokyo Station, by the JR Tokaido Shinkansen Line.


Related Information

Official Sites by Location

Tourist Attractions