Home > Suggested Itineraries > Browse by Interests > World Heritages in Japan

World Heritages in Japan

Browse by Interests

Suggested Itineraries

main image

With its long history, traditional culture and beautiful nature, Japan has sixteen locations registered as World Heritage Sites. These consist of twelve Cultural Heritage Sites and four Natural Heritage Sites. The twelve Cultural Heritage Sites are the Hiraizumi – Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites Representing the Buddhist Pure Land, Buddhists Monuments in the Horyu-ji Area, Himeji-jo, the Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto (Kyoto, Uji and Otsu Cities), the Historic Villages of Shirakawa-go and Gokayama, the Hiroshima Peace Memorial (Genbaku Dome), Itsukushima Shinto Shrine, the Historic Monuments of Ancient Nara, the Shrines and Temples of Nikko, the Gusuku Sites and Related Properties of the Kingdom of Ryukyu, and the Sacred Sites Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range, and Iwami Ginzan Silver Mine. Japan's four Natural Heritage Sites are at Ogasawara Islands, Yakushima, Shirakami-Sanchi, and Shiretoko.

  World Heritages
  in Japan
Shirakami Mountains (Aomori)
Shirakami Mountains (Akita)
Ogasawara Islands(Tokyo)
Nara Park (Todai-ji Temple)
Horyu-ji Temple
Kumano Hongu
Mt. Koya-san
Himeji Castle
Peace Memorial Park
Itsuku-shima-jinja Shrine
Iwami Ginzan Silver Mine
Yaku-shima Island