Until the late 19th century, Hokkaido was known as Ezochi, and was where the ethnic Ainu people developed their own unique culture. In 1869, when the government abolished the Han (feudal domain) system and replaced with prefectures to make progress in centralizing political authority, Ezochi was renamed Hokkaido and became a directly controlled territory of the government. Then, Emperor Meiji selected three protecting deities of the reclamation of Hokkaido ("God of Okunitama," "God of Onamuchi" and "God of Sukunahikona") and enshrined them here. In 1964, the "God of Emperor Meiji" was also enshrined here, and the name was changed from "Sapporo Jinja" to "Hokkaido Jingu (Hokkaido Shrine)." Its 180,000-square-meter precincts are also known as one of the best cherry blossom-viewing spots. The shrine burned down in 1974 and was restored in 1978.
Address: 474 Miyagaoka, Chuo-ku, Sapporo-shi, Hokkaido
Admission Fee: Free in the shrine precincts
Closed: Open throughout the year
[Rail]JR Sapporo Station/Subway Sapporo Station/2 min./Subway Odori Station/7 min./Subway Maruyama-koen Station/On foot/15 min.