Home > Wakayama > Kumano Hayatama-taisha Shrine

Kumano Hayatama-taisha Shrine


During the 10th-12th centuries, a belief had spread that ones prayers would be answered if one paid a visit to the Kumano region located south of the city of Kyoto. This journey of faith to Kumano was called the Kumano pilgrimage. There are three grand shrines: namely the Kumano Hongu-taisha Shrine, the Kumano Nachi-taisha Shrine and this, the Kumano Hayatama-taisha Shrine. The latter is called Shingu or Kumano-gongen. It enshrines 12 gods, including the god of Kumano Hayatama.The word "Gongen" means "avatar," and stems from the belief that God appears to the world in which we live by transforming into a Buddha. Such a concept of perceiving God and Buddha as being the same entity had spread from Kumano throughout the country.Approximately 1,000 ancient holy treasures, which are believed to have been offered by the Imperial household in the 15th and 16th centuries and by the Ashikaga shoguns who ruled Japan at the time, have been designated National Treasures and as Important Cultural Properties.'


Address: 1 Shingu, Shingu-shi, Wakayama
Admission Fee: Free in the shrine precincts
Shinpo-kan (Treasury Hall): 500 yen (regular fee)

[Walk]JR Shingu Stn./15-min. walk

Related Information 1 (その他付属情報-中央)


Related Information 2 (その他付属情報-左)

Related Information 3 (その他付属情報-右)

Area Map